My New World: Teachers College, Columbia University

I’ve recently added a new world to my New York City life–I was officially accepted this April into the Doctorate of Education program in Interdisciplinary Studies at Teachers College or Columbia University on 120th Street near Harlem in New York City! The departements I’ll be working with are Psychology in Education, Social-Organizational Psychology, Philosophy of Education, Curriculum and Teaching, and other departments related to transformative education and emotional learning!

teachers-college

Here are the professors who will be on my graduate studies committee team:

1) Megan Laverty from the Philosophy of Education Department (http://www.tc.columbia.edu/faculty/index.htm?facid=ml2524)

megan-laverty

2) Peter Coleman from the department of Social-Organizational Psychology (http://www.tc.columbia.edu/faculty/index.htm?facid=pc84)

tccoleman

Peter is also the head of the International Center for Cooperation and Conflict Resolution!
http://www.tc.edu/icccr/

3) Deanna Kuhn from the department of Psychology and Education (http://www.tc.columbia.edu/faculty/index.htm?facid=dk100)

tckuhn

4) Lynn Bejoian from the department of Curriculum and Teaching (http://www.tc.columbia.edu/faculty/index.htm?facid=lmb16)

5) Richard Keller from Psychology in Education.

They represent the dream team for my Interdisciplinary Studied Doctorate of Education Program in my goal of bridging transformative education and emotional learning to the education system!

I visited Teacher’s College for events in these departments and already I have 4-6 new great contacts (professors, fellow graduate students, socratic seminar attendees, etc) from my two evenings there. It’s becoming clear that this will be an entire world unto itself for me in New York.

But then it got even better! When I looked up information about Megan Laverty, I noticed that she has been involved with an ongoing Socratic methods/Salon group at Columbia led by a man named Ron Gross. You can read about his at this site: http://www.socratesway.com/ and here is a photo of him dressed at Socrates!

ron-as-socrates

Ron also has a “Conversation Cafe” (http://www.conversationcafe.org/Newsletters/Newsletter_08_Jan/Ron%20column.htm) at Columbia which has a similar purpose of stimulating conversation and “great talk” as a means of improving oneself, creating community and making the world a better place.

Ron has said he will be lead one of my next Salons so keep updated on when he will host!

2 Responses to “My New World: Teachers College, Columbia University”

  1. Ernest Smith Says:

    Great video Scott. It is always a pleasure for me to see this city through yours eyes and your gift for documentation is exceptional. I am truly happy for your success and excited for your future.

  2. Scott,
    You say want an evolution, well, you know….
    We’d all love to change the world……..

    Perfect place for you to take your game to the next frontier….
    here’s to you and what’s unfolding on campus.
    peace
    D

Leave a Reply

